Book Review: Brimstone Angels: Lesser Evils (Dungeons & Dragons)

Brimstone Angels: Lesser Evils (Book)
Author: Erin M. Evans
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
Publication Date: 04/12/12

Set in the Forgotten Realms of Dungeons and Dragons, Brimstone Angels: Lesser Evils is the second book in what is clearly intended to be an ongoing series for the author, Erin M. Evans.

The book follows the continuing adventures of Farideh and Havilar, two Tiefling twins with light hearts and a dangerous history. Farideh made a deal with a devil named Lorcan, and Havilar is a warrior who can match steel with the best of them. The twins are both heirs to great power, and as such, great powers are very much interested in them. Havilar isn’t known to exist, however, so Farideh is believed to be a Warlock of tremendous magical power who can also battle a more physical fight.

Lorcan was captured and imprisoned by his sister Sairche at the end of the first book, and Farideh spends much of the first half of this book finding a way to free him. This desire to find a way to free Lorcan naturally leads to trouble. While Farideh is looking for a way to free Lorcan, Sairche is searching for her, and is torturing Lorcan to have him give up her location.

As all of this is happening, an organization called the Harpers are doing their best to contain the rising evil of the Shade. Tam is one of Farideh’s traveling band of bounty hunters, and also works with the Harpers to fight the Shade whenever they appear. When the band of bounty hunters is split, Tam starts investigating leads on mysterious or disturbing events in the area. When one of those leads to an ancient wizard’s library, the race is on to find the library before the elements of Shade do, and either keep it hidden or find a way to destroy it. However, what they find when they get there may change everything.

Evans tells an enjoyable story. Stepping into the series as a newcomer I was given enough back story so as not to feel lost at all. The characters are likable and well written. The plot moves back and forth between the different people at a hectic pace, but you never feel overwhelmed. There are so many stories going on at the same time it’s difficult to state which one is the main and which are the sub plots, but as the book is clearly part of an ongoing series, that is not a problem. The author does a nice job of providing closure while at the same time leaving some loose ends for the next book to cover.

I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good adventure. Having a strong knowledge of Dungeons and Dragons would help, but it is not required.



, ,



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *