Inside Pulse 12

Don’t Miss This: GenCon 2014 Poker Game

Flying Buffalo created a neat poker deck in 2008 called the “Origins Poker Deck,” which features four famous game designers as the king cards and ads from various game companies, conventions, and stores as the rest of the deck. The original deck was sold at the 2008 Origins Game Convention; the kings that year were Gary Gygax, Dave Arneson, Jim Dunnigan, and Redmond Simonsen. This year’s kings are Ken St. Andre of Tunnels and Trolls fame, Richard H. Berg (also known as “The Pope of Wargaming”), Tom Dalgliesh of Columbia Games, and Liz Danforth of FBInc.

This year, as they have in the past, Flying Buffalo is offering a contest. They’ve provided a list of booths that you can stop by once per day in order to collect a free random card from the deck. The first person to accumulate a straight flush (that’s five cards in a row for those non-poker players out there) should go to the Flying Buffalo booth (1105 in the exhibit hall) to get an entry into a drawing for a prize from their prize table. The drawing will be at noon on Sunday.

If you don’t want to collect the contest deck, which has a green back, you can opt to buy the complete purple deck for $5 each. Flying Buffalo also has decks from 2008 and 2009.

Be sure to stop by Flying Buffalo in order to have a chance at some cool prizes!

 

If you’re not at Gen Con and are interested in the card list, here are the cards for the 2014 deck.

Ace of Spades: Gorilla Games www.gorillaboardgames.com 
King of Spades: Ken St Andre www.trollhalla.com
Queen of Spades: Chaosium www.chaosium.com
Jack of Spades: Traveller www.farfuture.net 
Ten of Spades: R&R Games Nine of Spades: Sherwood Games facebook.com/SherwoodGames
Eight of Spades: Book Maze Book Maze.com
Seven of Spades: Ace of Aces flyingbuffalo.com/ace.htm
Six of Spades: Castle Perilous www.castleperilous.com
Five of Spades: Fellowship of the Troll flyingbuffalo.com/tandt.htm
Four of Spades: Mepa Con www.mepacon.com
Three of Spades: Greater Games Industry Catalog www.greatergamesindustry.com
Two of Spades: Texicon www.texicon.net


Ace of Clubs: Columbia Games columbiagames.com
King of Clubs: Tom Dalgliesh columbiagames.com
Queen of Clubs: Queens Blade flyingbuffalo.com/qbrebellion.htm
Jack of Clubs: Traveller www.farfuture.net 
Ten of Clubs: Thompson Productions Thompson Productions
Nine of Clubs: Main Street Music www.main-street-music.com
Eight of Clubs: Fellowship of the White Starwww.fellowshipwhitestar.com
Seven of Clubs: City of the Gods, Fantasy Novel www.cityofthegods.com
Six of Clubs: Steve Crompton, Artist www.stevecrompton.com
Five of Clubs: Imperial Outpost Games
Four of Clubs: MEPA Con www.mepacon.com
Three of Clubs: Game Market Guru
Two of Clubs: CelestiCon www.celesticon.com


Ace of Diamonds: Kenzer & Co (Aces & Eights) www.kenzerco.com
King of Diamonds: Richard Berg
Queen of Diamonds: Roll2Play
Jack of Diamonds: Jack Wells
Ten of Diamonds: B&R Games
Nine of Diamonds: MTG Card Market www.mtgcardmarket.com
Eight of Diamonds: Trollhalla www.trollhalla.com
Seven of Diamonds: Arcane Wonders
Six of Diamonds: Origins Game Faire www.originsgamefair.com
Five of Diamonds: Morrow Project www.timelineltd.com
Four of Diamonds: World Boardgame Championships www.boardgamers.org
Three of Diamonds: RSI www.reality.com 
Two of Diamonds: Peryton Publishing www.perytonpublishing.com


Ace of Hearts: The Loveshade Family www.loveshade.org
King of Hearts: Liz Danforth www.lizdanforth.com 
Queen of Hearts: Amara Wintersword chainmailgirl.com
Jack of Hearts: Blood and Cardstock www.blood-and-cardstock.com
Ten of Hearts: Dungeon Crawl Classics www.goodman-games.com
Nine of Hearts: Reaper Minis
Eight of Hearts: JBM tshirts JBM Press
Seven of Hearts: Eleanor Woolley www.gothybeans.com
Six of Hearts: Janice M. Sellers Janice Sellers 
Five of Hearts: Death Dice www.flyingbuffalo.com/dice.htm
Four of Hearts: Lion Rampant Imports
Three of Hearts: Greater Games Industry Catalog www.greatergamesindustry.com
Two of Hearts: Sources & Methods


King of Coins: Titan Games titansentertainmentcafe.com
Joker: Cheapass Games www.cheapass.com
Joker: Grimtina